02
Nov
09

dia de los muertos and nanowrimo

today, being november 2, is the traditional mexican holiday el dia de los muertos (the day of the dead). i try to keep in touch with my feelings about death and dying and the dead around this time of year, as it’s getting darker and colder and many of the people i know who have died have done so around this time of year. it’s hard to meditate on anything right now for me, though, so i haven’t done as well as in years past.

my mother had a very serious surgery today — a double mastectomy. i was telling a friend what a very literary condition it is to have a mother without breasts. a mother who breast-fed you, nonetheless. i don’t think i can write about it, though. just as it’s hard for me to write about the deaths of people i care about, i have not yet had the ability to write anything meaningful about my mother’s breast cancer.

while it may look as though i don’t care, the fact is just the opposite — i can’t write about things i really truly care about, it seems. my brain shuts off. i go to sleep.

but i am participating in the national novel writing month, and i’ve written 3,090 words in the past two days, i.e. CHAPTER I.  the goal in nanowrimo is to write 50,000 words (about 175 pages) from nov. 1 to nov. 30.  while there isn’t really A PRIZE (save a certificate you get, woohoo), i think it’s a good idea to motivate me to write, even if i’m writing nonsense. i suppose i’ll post what i’ve written up at mybunniesarecuterthanyours, that horrible mess of a site. i need a name for my novel still (i’m so bad with titles) — maybe someone can help me out?

anyway, go set up a shrine to someone you’ve lost and think about them, and what you think it means to die. i plan to do that tonight, after dinner.

3 Responses to “dia de los muertos and nanowrimo”


  1. 1 Kerrie
    November 3, 2009 at 6:38 am

    I’ve never had anyone close to me die yet. I don’t consider myself fortunate in that respect because I think it would give me a new perspective on death. Right now it doesn’t seem real, and I’m pretty lighthearted about it, especially when it comes to my own death. That has become more pronounced since I’ve been backpacking by myself, where I could die in a place that I love (the wilderness) doing something that I love. Either through injury/exposure or wild animal. Anyway, since I believe there’s nothing after death I find that I concentrate more on living a fun, fulfilling life before I go.

  2. 2 Derek Bill
    November 3, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Without death, I don’t think we’d value life as much as we do. Or should. My thoughts are with you and your mom.

  3. 3 Chris
    November 3, 2009 at 11:23 am

    If we’re on the death theme, how about:

    “The Sour Demise of Cold Milk Guy”?

    I think it’s a winner!


Leave a Reply

post everyone else likes best

topics i’ve written about

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers


