15
Sep
09

more word on luckedraft.com

a few folks (okay, two) have come to this blog because they got burnt, or almost got burnt, by the same cruddy “ghostwriting” company that i tried to work for.  i just googled Luckedraft.com and apparently, my blog comes up before their own site.  interesting.

i’m going to just take a moment here to savor the fact that my complaint about them was met with agreement from other freelancers.  it kind of makes my day. is that childish and small of me? oh well. i’m feeling good in my childish and small moment.

because i know a few people are reading this, here are a few other things that may make the spurned writer from Luckedraft.com take heart:

– we have all reported them to the Better Business Bureau. (had a problem with them? please, chip in! report Luckedraft.com to the BBB here.)
– there’s always small claims court. since we know Luckedraft.com owes at least a few people several hundred bucks, it’s worth the $30 fee to file against them. there are several companies on the Web that will be glad to help, apparently, and when you win, Luckedraft.com will have to pay your court fees, too.
– we’re spreading the word. even people who are thinking of becoming clients of Luckedraft.com can benefit from knowing that the company, if it is such, is run poorly, has several outstanding lawsuits against it, and is under investigation from the BBB. if you are considering using them, or no someone who is, hopefully you read this first.

i’m not usually a vengeful person, but i believe in honesty and justice, and if i can use my writing to get it, i will sleep that much sounder at night.

5 Responses to “more word on luckedraft.com”


  1. 1 Mustafa Samiullah
    September 17, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Do you remember who you talked to when you were given assignments? I’m trying to figure out if it’s the same person I did. Small Claims is an option if I could figure out how to get in contact with these people. Either they are not getting my e-mails or they are ignoring them.

  2. September 17, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    the guy i worked with was named James. he called me from two or three different phone numbers. i also talked to someone named Kit-Yi – Kit@luckedraft.com. “James” only ever emailed me from Contact@luckedraft.com. The phone numbers he called me from were registered for other companies and things… I can get you those if you’d like.

    Good luck…

  3. 3 Mustafa Samiullah
    September 18, 2009 at 8:51 am

    I never talked to James, I know of Kit. I believe his phone number was 415-525-0338. I didn’t even realize that they were registered to other companies, but sure if you can get the numbers, that would be great.

  4. 4 Mustafa Samiullah
    September 18, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Oh, one more thing. When I first started with the company, I received an “advance” of $40 through paypal. Actually when I went back to check on the e-mail address the money came from, I think it’s different from the one it came from when I first got the money.

  5. 5 valyalynn
    December 25, 2009 at 10:44 am

    I have only complaints about luckedraft. And when I told them since I have time to write for them I also have time to write against them, David was my contact, he text messaged me that they had lawyers. In any case I published both papers I wrote for them and did not get paid for on Craigslist, in the writers’ category. They must be out of business now. I figured I would try it with them, I love writing…but I knew since there was no written contract, when to stop. Even tho’ after I was complaining he would still send me assignments. I declined the assignments and all of a sudden my writing was not good enough.


Leave a Reply

post everyone else likes best

topics i’ve written about

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers


