24
Aug
09

A Resuscitation of Lady Toons?

I, like so many members of today’s working society, grew up in the 1980s. I watched tons of cartoons. I watched My Little Pony, Rainbow Bright, Jem, and even Thundercats and Silverhawks, in spite of a general opposition to “boy shows”, a category under which either or both of those could fall. My sisters and I refused to watch G. I. Joe or Transformers when we were young, because those were shows for boys, who were “icky”. I’m not sure why Thundercats missed the mark on that one — perhaps because we felt a longing to be as sexy and stylish as Cheetara? Maybe because it was something that we could play at church camp with the boys and feel that we were just as good as they were? Funny, because there were only two female characters in that show.

Nevertheless, I understand the crippling nostalgia that hits some members of my generation when the heroes from their Saturday morning cartoons hit the big screen at full force. Optimus Prime! He’s huge! And he’s not a cartoon! And “knowing is half the battle”! ZOMG!
But I can’t get excited until I hear they’re really making “Jem: The Movie”. I never watched G.I. Joe because it was for boys, remember? I’m still a girl.

Maybe My Little Pony and Rainbow Brite don’t translate well to an adult audience, is that the case? Then my question is, why don’t we trust little girls with the same adult nonsense we trust boys with? Or what are we adult girls so afraid of — My Little Pony was about trust and love, Jem was about being a girl who was trying to balance her career dreams with her love of a man, and Rainbow Brite was about saving the world from the forces of evil! C’mon! Just because there weren’t guns and everything was based on the magic of one girl’s hair doesn’t mean it wouldn’t be worth it to see it on the big screen!

… or does it?

2 Responses to “A Resuscitation of Lady Toons?”


  1. August 23, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    grow out your dyke hair, and maybe i’ll respect you like a woman.

    -drikny


Leave a Reply

post everyone else likes best

topics i’ve written about

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers


